UN declaration on Indigenous Rights

Hey all, I was scheduled to report on theĀ UN declaration on Indigenous rights. I decided to post my notes here as we are running out of time and I have one more presentation to do. When I read the document, I started trying to categorize the main points. the main ones I found were:

Autonomy
Freedom
Culture
Identity
Many combinations for categories (Cultural Freedom, Cultural identity, etc. )

Some declarations identify risk-group within a risk group such as indigenous women, children and physically challenged people.

Some questions it left me with:

Were indigenous people consulted about the declaration? Or is this just another way colonizers can feel less guilty while STILL telling native people how they should feel?

Why did it take Canada almost 10 years to adopt the declaration?

Why difference does it make to the lives of first nations people in Canada, for example?

but as of 2016, 85 first nations communities in Canada were under water advisements.

It still feels like a lot of words when there’s lots of work to be done.

UPDATE: Here’s an article I found on the clean water issue..https://www.cbc.ca/news/indigenous/first-nations-water-treatment-setbacks-1.4909763?fbclid=IwAR35WumC9_KYHuHenLurg6nJ1-j5E-msBmUoFvpjMwQlAj4joV8yL_u2cRA

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *